Small Business Resources

A Pathfinder

by Peg Elliott, Librarian

This pathfinder is designed for entrepreneurs looking to start their own business as well as individuals already in business. Whether you are brand new to the world of business and need ideas for where to start, gathering data for your business plan, looking for information on insurance or bookkeeping or how to market your business, there are free resources available for research and for checkout from your public library.

Reference
Books
     General
     Business Plans
     Legal
     Marketing
     Business Operations
Magazines
Databases
Other Resources


Reference

These reference books, located at the Central Library, provide information on business and industry trends, census and demographic data and other information useful for preparing business plans, researching the competition and learning about business in the greater Syracuse Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA).

Demographics USA: County Edition
Along with the companion title, Demographics USA: Zip Edition, these two titles contain maps and demographic, economic, commercial and industrial estimates. Each volume includes population, race/ethnicity, age/gender and household related data, effective buying power, consumer expenditure data, occupation and employment data.
R 304.607 DEM

MPA Market Profile Analysis: Consumer and Business Demographic Reports (Syracuse, NY)
Provides demographics and business information on the Syracuse Metropolitan Statistical Area. A comprehensive data tool for evaluating existing markets, locations and proposed sites for offices, stores and other businesses.
R 332.6 MPA

Mergent Industry Review
Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys
Both these titles provide information on economic trends, forecasts and growth prospects of major U.S. industries.
R 332.6 MER
R 332.6 STA

CNY Business Journal Book of Lists
Lists of which companies are leading their industries in Central New York, the Mohawk Valley and Greater Binghamton.
R 338.09 CNY

Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce Business Directory
Lists area businesses by product or service.
R 338.097 GRE

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Includes composite financial statistics on over 800 lines of business. Cash, accounts receivable, inventory, deferred credits, net sales, gross profits, working capital, solvency, efficiency and profitability ratios are listed.
R 338.097 IND

RMA [Risk Management Association] Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks
Features composite financial data for over 740 manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, agricultural and contracting businesses. Useful when comparing one business with another.
R 338.097 RMA

Dun and Bradstreet Regional Business Directory (Northern NY State Area)
Lists business information on the Central NY region, and includes a ranking of the top area businesses. Includes contact information, rankings, sales, number of employees and names of company officers.
R 338.702 DBR

Dun & Bradstreet Business Rankings
Includes public and private businesses ranked within industry category and state.
R 338.74 BUS

Business Rankings Annual
Lists of companies, products, services and activities compiled from a variety of published sources. Includes a handy SIC to NAICS code conversion guide and bibliography listing special annual issues of a wide selection of business magazines.
R 338.74 BUS

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Provides a benchmark for evaluating an individual company’s financial performance, tracking 50 operating and financial factors in nearly 200 industries.
R 338.74 TRO

Small Business Sourcebook
Two volume annotated guide. Provides information to facilitate the startup, development and growth of specific small business. Lists articles, books, associations, suppliers and trade shows.
R 658.022 SMA

Business Plans Handbook
A multivolume set that includes sample business plans for a variety of types of business. This title is also available as a searchable e-book in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database. You will need your OCPL library card to log into the e-book.
R 658.401 BUS

Top of Page


Books

The OCPL Catalog includes resources on a wide variety of business topics. This list is just a sampling of the titles available throughout the OCPL system. These and many other related titles can be requested and sent to your local library for pickup at your convenience.

Here are some useful subject headings to search for materials:

Business planning
New business enterprises
Small business
Small business - Finance
Home-based Businesses

General

Book cover image - Entrepreneur Magazine's Ultimate Small Business Advisor

Entrepreneur Magazine’s Ultimate Small Business Advisor: All You Need to Know
by Andy Axman
658.022 AXM




The Boss of You: Everything a Woman Needs to Start, Run and Maintain Her Own Business
by Lauren Bacon
658.008 BAC


Book cover image - Start Your Own Business

Start Your Own Business: The Only Startup Book You’ll Ever Need
by Rieva Lesonsky
658.041 STA




Small Business, Big Life: Five Steps to Creating a Great Life With Your Own Small Business
by Louis Barajas
658.022 BAR


Book cover image - The Home Office From Hell Cure
The Home Office From Hell Cure: Transform Your Underperforming, Time-Sucking Homebased Business Into a Runaway Success
by Jeffrey A. Landers
658.041 LAN




How To Start a Business in New York
by Entrepreneur Press
658.11 HOW


Business Plans


Anatomy of a Business Plan: A Step-By-Step Guide to Building a Business and Securing Your Company’s Future
by Linda Pinson
658.401 PIN

How to Prepare a Business Plan

by Edward Blackwell
658.4012 BLACKWEL

How to Write a Great Business Plan
by William Andrews Sahlman
658.401 SAH


Legal

Book cover image - Small Business Legal Tool Kit

Small Business Legal Tool Kit
by Ira N. Nottonson
346.73 NOT




Streetwise Incorporating Your Business: From Legal Issues to Tax Concerns, All You Need to Establish and Protect Your Business
by Michele Cagan
346.73 CAG


Book cover image - Buying and Selling a Business

Buying and Selling a Business
by Ira N. Nottonson
658.164 NOT




Small Business Start-up Kit
by Peri Pakroo
346.73 PAK


Marketing

Book cover image - Marketing Strategies for the Home-Based Business


Marketing Strategies for the Home-Based Business: Solutions You Can Use Today
by Shirley George Frazier
658.802 FRA



Tips and Traps for Marketing Your Business
by Scott W. Cooper
658.8 COO


Book cover image - Web Marketing for Small Businesses

Web Marketing for Small Businesses: 7 Steps to Explosive Business Growth
by Stephanie Diamond
658.872 DIA




Guerrilla Marketing for Free: 100 No-Cost Tactics to Promote Your Business and Energize Your Profits
by Jay Conrad Levinson
658.8 LEV


Business Operations

Book cover image - Finance for Non-Financial Managers and Small Business Owners

Finance for Non-Financial Managers and Small Business Owners
by Lawrence W. Tuller
658.159 TUL




Design Your Own Effective Employee Handbook: How to Make the Most of Your Staff
by Michelle Devon
658.455 DEV


Book cover image - Quickbooks 2008

Quickbooks 2008: The Official Guide
by Kathy Ivens
657.9042 IVE




Successful Meetings: How to Plan, Prepare and Execute Top-Notch Business Meetings
by Shri Henkel
658.456 HEN


Book cover image - Teach Yourself Managing IT for Your Small Business

Teach Yourself Managing IT for Your Small Business
by Michael Pagan
004.068 PAG




Teach Yourself PC Networking for Your Small Business
by Anthony Price
004.68 PRI

Top of Page


Magazines

Paper copies of these magazines are kept for several years at the Central Library. Contact the library to verify availability of specific magazine issues. You can also use the Gale Business & Company ASAP online database to retrieve full text magazine articles from business, management, and trade journals and newspapers.

Black Enterprise

Business Week

Business Woman Magazine

Canadian Business

Central New York Business Journal

Entrepreneur Magazine

Hispanic Business

Minority Business Entrepreneur

Top of Page


Databases

The library subscribes to several online databases that are useful for researching business topics. These business databases provide directory information, industry trends and access to magazine and newspaper articles and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For using the online databases in the library, please see a librarian.

Reference USA
Business and residential phone numbers, addresses, and other directory information. Reverse phone number lookups; advanced mode searching by yellow page heading, business SIC or NAICS code, zip code, SMSA and more.

Gale Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals, including detailed business and industry news and information. 1980-present.

Gale Business & Company ASAP
More than 35 million articles from business, management, and trade journals and newspapers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable full-text reference e-books, including all ten volumes of the Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Small Business and the Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce.

Hoover’s Online [In-library access only at Central and City of Syracuse branch libraries]
Comprehensive coverage of public, private, and non-U.S. companies. Includes profiles, news, key people, and in-depth financials.

Newspaper Databases - Newspapers contain valuable articles on businesses

NewsBank
Full text of the Syracuse Post-Standard from 1986-present, the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle from 1999-present, and the Utica Observer-Dispatch from 2003.

Gale New York State Newspapers
Full-text articles from 10 major New York State newspapers.

Gale Custom Newspapers
A full-text collection of 150 newspapers, both national and international.

Top of Page


Local Resources

Small Business Development Center
Onondaga Community College, Whitney ATC Suite 206, 4585 West Seneca Turnpike, Syracuse, NY 13215-4585
315-498-6070
E-mail: sbdc@sunyocc.edu

The Small Business Development Center provides free and confidential counseling to both start up and existing businesses. The SBDC works with all small businesses, from home based to manufacturing. The center is staffed with certified business advisors who provide counseling and educational programs targeted to small business needs. The SBDC is funded through the State University of New York, the SBA and is hosted by Onondaga Community College.

Syracuse SCORE
401 South Salina Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-471-9393 x245
E-mail: info@syracusescore.org

Provides counseling and mentoring to small business clients. Also provides specialized services, such as workshop/seminar presentations, computer and Web site assistance.

Appleseed Trust
“Sowing the Seeds of Entrepreneurial Success”
Home HeadQuarters, 124 East Jefferson Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-474-1939

Provides assistance with business skills training, mentoring, and, in qualified cases, making small (micro) loans to graduate-operated businesses for start-up or expansion.

South Side Innovation Center
2610 South Salina Street, Syracuse, NY 13205
315-443-8600

A business incubator that provides office space and business support for start up businesses and budding entrepreneurs on Syracuse’s South Side.

Greater Syracuse Economic Growth Council Resource Center
John H. Mulroy Civic Center, 14th Floor, 421 Montgomery Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-435-3770 or Toll Free 877-797-8222
E-mail: info@SyracuseCentral.com

Find market data, research reports, information about tax credits, financial incentives, real estate and other local resources.

WISE Center (Women Igniting the Spirit of Entrepreneurship)
2610 South Salina Street, Syracuse, NY 13205
315-443-8693

With the support of the Entrepreneurship and Emerging Enterprises (EEE) program, Syracuse University, and community partners, the WISE Center will provide training, services and other resources to women entrepreneurs across Syracuse and Onondaga County.

Empire State Development Agency - Central New York Region
620 Erie Boulevard West Suite 112, Syracuse, NY 13204
315-425-9110
E-mail: nys-centralny@empire.state.ny.us

Empire State Development provides programs, services and incentives specifically designed to help small business entrepreneurs maximize their opportunities for success. This comprehensive web site allows small businesses to connect to all the various NY State government resources available to assist their operations.

Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce
572 South Salina Street, Syracuse, NY 13202-3320
315-470-1800
E-mail: info@SyracuseChamber.com

Offers referral services and seminars to assist local business in bidding for and winning local, state and federal procurement contracts. A nominal fee is charged for most seminars and workshops, with a discount for Chamber members.

Industrial Development Agencies
John H. Mulroy Civic Center, 14th Floor, 421 Montgomery Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-435-3770 or Toll Free 877-797-8222
E-mail: info@SyracuseCentral.com

Two Industrial Development Agencies serve Onondaga County. The Syracuse Industrial Development Agency (SIDA) works with companies located within the city limits. SIDA is a nonprofit corporation created to enhance Syracuse's economic development capabilities. It provides benefits to qualified companies as taxable and tax-exempt industrial revenue bonds, payments in lieu of taxes (PILOTs), tax exemptions and flexible development fund loans for major development projects. The Onondaga County Industrial Development Agency (OCIDA) works throughout the county. OCIDA provides tax assistance, financing, employee training grants and infrastructure support. Fees are charged for some services.

CNY Technology Development Organization (TDO)
1201 East Fayette Street, Syracuse, NY 13210
315-425-5144
E-mail: mail@tdosolutions.com

CNYTDO offers general business consulting/assistance and programs such as Training Within Industry (TWI), Lean Manufacturing Assistance, Business Assessment, QuickView Manufacturing Assessment, Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Outreach, OSHA training and ExportNY in support of small to medium-sized businesses and high-tech entrepreneurs in Onondaga, Oswego, Cortland, Madison, and Cayuga counties.

Top of Page


Other Resources

Business and Finance Links
Links to selected online business and finance resources.

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us