Online Databases
Access
full-text magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books
24-hours a day with your OCPL
library card.
For help using these databases, or selecting the best database
for your search, you can ask a librarian.
If you encounter
technical problems when accessing the databases, please check the troubleshooting
tips.
Available to All OCPL Libraries

The following databases are available to all OCPL library cardholders. Databases
marked with an * are NOVEL databases,
made available to New York State residents
as part of the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library. This program is paid
for with funds from the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Magazines | Newspapers | Business | Health | Genealogy | Other
EBSCOhost
MasterFile Select*
Full-text articles from over 750 popular magazines, including Consumer Reports, covering diverse
subjects and an extensive image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
EBSCOhost
General Science Collection*
Full-text coverage for more than 60
of the most popular science publications.
EBSCOhost Science Reference Center*
Full-text articles from over 630 reference books, encyclopedias, periodicals, newspapers, biographies and images. It is designed to support the middle and high school science curriculum.
Informe*
A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text in Spanish.
Gale
InfoTrac Junior Edition*
Full-text articles from magazines,
newspapers, and reference books. For students in junior high and middle
school.
EBSCOhost
TOPICSearch*
Full-text articles exploring social, political,
and economic issues. For middle and high school students.
EBSCOhost
Primary Search*
Full text of over 50 children's magazines.
Kids
Search*
A kid-friendly interface for EBSCOhost Primary
Search.
NewsBank
Full text of the Syracuse Post-Standard and the Herald-Journal / Herald American
(Dec. 1986-present), the Albany Times Union (Mar. 1986-present), the Rochester
Democrat and Chronicle (1999-present), and the Utica Observer-Dispatch (2003-present).
This collection is text only and has no images.
Gale
New York State Newspapers*
Full-text
articles from the Buffalo News (1996-present), Syracuse Post-Standard
(Feb. 1996-present), New York Observer (2001-present), New York Post
(2000-present), and New York Times (2000-present).
Gale
Custom Newspapers*
Full text of 150 national and international
newspapers.
Gale
National Newspaper Index*
Indexing for five major newspapers
from 1977 onward: The Christian Science Monitor,
Los Angeles Times, New York Times,
Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Gale
Business & Company Resource Center*
Company profiles,
brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies,
and business periodicals, including detailed business and industry news,
1980-present.
Gale
Business & Company ASAP*
More than 35
million articles from business, management, and trade journals and newspapers.
ReferenceUSA
Business and residential phone numbers, addresses,
and other directory information, including reverse phone number lookups.
The business directory offers advanced mode searching by yellow
page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA
and more.
For additional Library resources, also see the Small Business Pathfinder
Gale
Health Reference Center Academic*
Full-text information
from health and fitness magazines, medical and
professional journals, newspapers, medical dictionaries, and
reference books.
Gale
Health & Wellness Resource Center*
Offers the same
content as the Gale Health Reference Center Academic with a different
search interface and additional content on herbal remedies and alternative
and complementary treatments.
HeritageQuest
Online
A collection of research materials for tracing family
history and American culture, including a complete set of U.S. Federal
Census [head of household] records from 1790-1930, a collection of over
25,000 family and local histories, and an index of over 1.6 million genealogy
and local history articles.
If you need technical assistance with this database, please
check the HeritageQuest
Online FAQ, or follow the steps on OCPL's troubleshooting
page.
Learning Express
Library
Online practice for job-related and academic exams,
including the GED, SAT, AP exams, ASVAB, civil service, U.S. citizenship,
and more. Many titles are also available as e-books. New users should
enter their OCPL library card number as the user name.
Gale
Twayne's Authors Series*
Contains the full text of 200
Twayne Literary Masters books on U.S., English, and world authors.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library*
Searchable full-text
reference titles in business, history, law, literature,
medicine, and science.
EBSCOhost
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia*
EBSCO
Animals*
In-depth information on a variety of topics relating
to animals.
Central and City Branch Libraries
The Central Library and city branches (Beauchamp,
Betts, Hazard, Mundy, Paine, Petit, Soule, White, and the Northeast and Southwest
Community Center Libraries) have purchased the following additional databases.
Any patron can use the additional databases when they visit one of these locations.
Patrons with library cards obtained at Central or one of the city branches
also have remote access to the databases with their library card number and
personal identification number (PIN). If you have difficulty accessing these
databases, please check the troubleshooting tips.
African American History & Culture
An
encyclopedia covering more than 500 years of African-American history.
American National Biography
Profiles
of more than 18,000 deceased men and women who have
influenced American history and culture.
Ancestry Library [in-library use only]
An online resource for conducting genealogical and local
history research. Includes the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census
[every name] from 1790 forward; Social Security Death Index; U.S. Birth,
Marriage, Death Collections; WWI Draft Registration; Immigration Collection;
England and Wales Census Images, Indexes and Civil Registration Index 1837-preseent;
and England and Scotland, Ireland and Wales Parish and Probate Records 1500s-1837.
Books in Print
Comprehensive database of 5 million book, audio book, and video titles.
Chilton's Online
Provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks.
Columbia Granger's
World of Poetry
Provides 250,000 full-text poems and commentaries, biographies, books,
and glossary as well as indexing and citations to anthologies. New
tools include Save Search (My Granger's), split screen poem comparison,
a listening room, and our 6,000 subject browse.
CountryReports.org [in-library use only]
Quick facts about countries, statistics, cultural information, current events, teacher guides, related web links and lots more.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference (formerly Xreferplus) is a digital reference library featuring
content from high-quality reference books in a broad range of subjects. Search
all books simultaneously, or browse individual titles.
Facts On File Health Reference Center
Browsable information on medical terms, health conditions, and treatments in various
health-related fields.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Detailed and up-to-date descriptions
of more than 2,800 of the most popular jobs in 93 industries.
Foundation Directory Online [at Central Library only]
Find information on more than 90,000 U.S. foundations including direct corporate giving programs and company-sponsored foundations, 900,000 recent grants, and more than 400,000 key decision-makers.
Foundation Grants to Individuals [at Central Library only]
Quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.
Gale Academic ASAP
Full-text articles from professional journals and
other scholarly publications covering a broad range of topics. 1980-present.
Gale Biography Resource
Center
Biographical narratives and full-text
articles. Search options include name, nationality, ethnicity, occupation,
and more.
Gale General Reference
Center Gold
A general interest database
that integrates a variety of sources (newspapers, reference books, periodicals),
many with full text and images. 1980-present.
Gale Literature
Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies,
and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists,
journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the
most-studied authors.
Hoover’s Online [in-library
use only]
Comprehensive coverage of public, private, and non-U.S.
companies. Includes profiles, news, key people, and in-depth financials.
Newspaper Archive.com - National
A searchable archive of digital images from US and international newspapers. Coverage includes more than 750 cities and over 2000 newspaper titles. Included in the collection are Syracuse newspapers from the 1800s forward.
Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.
Newspaper Archive.com - Syracuse [in-library use only]
A searchable archive of Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. This collection
includes full text and images of newspaper pages.
Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.
NoveList and NoveList
K-8
Fiction databases that provide subject heading access,
reviews, annotations, and much more. NoveList includes over 120,000 fiction
titles. NoveList K-8, designed for younger readers, includes hundreds
of theme-oriented book lists.
World Book Online
Reference Center
More than 25,000 encyclopedia articles plus media
clips, a dictionary, an atlas, news headlines, Today
in History event list, and a Spanish encyclopedia.
Suburban Libraries
Remote or in-library access to databases in addition to those available to the entire OCPL System may be available if your library card was issued from Baldwinsville, Dewitt, Fayetteville, Liverpool, Manlius or the NOPL libraries. For more information about database resources, contact your local library.